Fuel consumption and turbo charger noise on new 2014 Patrol ST auto

toucan

Hello

I have a new Y61 Patrol ST Titanium limited edition. Auto model. Only done 1200 klms

First two tank refills of 80 litres each got only 473 and 479 kilometres respectively. I was horrified with this result.

Have only done general around town running but do not flog the vehicle.

In addition, I am getting a wirring/whoosing noise coming from the engine bay. The Nissan mechanise isolated it to the turbo charger, recorded the noise and has sent it to Nissan engineers to hear.

Could a turbo charger problem be a cause for the high fuel consumption? I am not a mechanical person so any comment/ advice would be appreciated.

Toucan

PS: I have also posted this item at another forum

G'day mate,

That fuel consumption works out to be around give or take 17 L/100 which seems to be standard eco on a few CrD Y61 Patrols. Some are even worse and Nissan is washing their hands of it, always the owners fault by fitting accessories, having lead foot, overloading, towing and generally anything the owners would do but Nissan's issue.

Just in case you wanted to hear it all ==> crd bad fuel economy discussion thread all 51 pages of it.

Faulty turbocharger can increase fuel consumption especially if it is also associated with poor performance. Now this needs to be read in context of the fail, basically turbochager failing to reach its operating boost pressures because either the operating controls malfunction (vacuum leaks for example), leaks (exhaust or induction side), incorrect adjustment or lack of fuel injected which is than another area of problems.

At this stage Ni$$an will be reluctant to even consider your poor eco complaint because of low km travelled.

Welcome to the Ni$$an customer service, you will not be pleased. Since the vehicle is under warranty make sure to make noise and if needed get consumer affairs involved.